cough syrup

On my nightstand rests an array of sick – person – paraphernalia:  water, hand sanitizer, that dish that held my lunch, other medicine and my Sherlock Holmes book that has been providing quality entertainment as moving from my fortress of a bed seems highly illogical.

I want to get up, I want to do something (anything) productive with my day but every time I pull my legs off the side of my bed, a mild rush of nausea and my entire body aching holds me back.  You could say I was productive – I mean, I went to “morning” class and looked at apartment listings for next semester.

My hearing channels in and out, flipping from ear to ear.  I know it’s just congestion “putting my head in a box” or whatever the common explanation for a head cold is.  That’s how it feels anyways.  Mellow music is strangely motivating.  I can ignore the nausea.  It’s okay that I can’t inhale or exhale through my nose and that my throat refuses to swallow anything that’s not a hot, steamy liquid.  It really is okay.

Three cups of tea later and I’m only slightly irked that this is the first time I’ve been sick in college.  My roommate is wonderful: tending to my medicine needs and making sure I use plenty of hand sanitizer / wash my hands frequently/ making me drink water.  It’s all good stuff.  I can’t smell the hand sanitizer so it doesn’t bother me like it usually would.   Water sounds excruciatingly revolting but after consumed, well worth it.

A gentle breeze brings fresh air into the room.   For the cool air, I am extremely thankful.

I’ve heard somewhere that getting sick is a strange coping mechanism to adjust to change.  It forces you to immediately accept your surroundings and tend to yourself when otherwise you might be consumed with other thoughts.  To this hypothesis I’d like to roll my eyes.  This is in no way helping me adjust to being back at school, I have schoolwork to tend to and classes to attend (and classmates *not* to get sick).  It would also be nice to actually comprehend what people are saying when they’re talking or lecturing.  It’s not exactly helpful when I can make out about three words in a sentence and (with difficulty) barely make out what the speaker is trying to get across.

Perhaps though, it is indeed a coping mechanism.  It allows an individual to see past what they can and cannot control.  When you are sick you have one main desire: to get better.   When you get better is not something you decide – though you can surely influence it.  Relatively similar to the change you are trying to accept, you have an influence on how quickly you adjust, but it is okay to accept that the rest is not in your control.  Let it go.

what large teeth you have

Future reference to deal with sick people:  speak in simple terms, keep it short and to the point.  They haven’t got any kind of energy to decode what you’re trying to get across and quite frankly, don’t care in the slightest.

One thought on “cough syrup

Leave a Reply

