Observe, Orient, Decide, Act (OODA)

OODA is a decision cycle that was coined by Col. John Boyd, USAF (google)

Observe:  Perhaps I am afraid of the future, so I keep getting caught up on reliving the past.  What I could have done, what I should have done… why am I not there, now?

It hurts to look back at all of the could haves and should haves and I seem to be punishing myself with it more and more.  “Why didn’t you…” tends to encompass the majority of thoughts that go through my mind.  Maybe I’m scared because I don’t know what’s coming.  Trying to envision what I want to and how I want to see myself in the future is rough.  Things don’t always work out how you see them to and I spend so much time thinking about why I can’t or shouldn’t do something that I waste the time that I could be using to accomplish something!  To get somewhere!

I am saying this here, now as a learning lesson.

Orient: This is existing, it’s not living.

Going through day by day, turning life into a routine.  It’s like walking in circles.  What am I doing? (nothing) Where am I going (nowhere).

The worst part is that I do not know what I want.  I have this vague, general idea of where I want to go, what I want to become but I have *no* idea how to get there or if what I want is “right.”  It’s left me lost.  Go so far as to say that I’m afraid to “live.”  At least I’m not settling to exist. If there is any kind of change, it is completely gradual and excruciatingly frustrating.  I need a goal, so I can get there.

It isn’t to ignore the past and live like it never happened – it did. But to move forward is to find something that you want and to go for it.

Decide: What do I want?  How do I want the outcome of my life to be.  An engineer that I have the opportunity of working with explained that the way he was taught to look at things to examine the outcome, the bigger picture and work  your way backwards to the point where you are now.  That is your plan of action.  That’s how you’re going to get what you want.

But what do I want?  What does anyone want?

To be happy.

Well, what makes you happy?

Act.

One thought on “Observe, Orient, Decide, Act (OODA)

Leave a Reply

